Majority of Laois communities vote to be first county in Ireland with poster ban

Michelle Hogan


Michelle Hogan

Majority of Laois communities vote to be first county in Ireland with poster ban

Picture by Laois PPN on Facebook.

The majority of Laois communities have voted in favour of the county being the first in Ireland to become poster free inside the 50km speed limits of all its towns and villages.

The vote was held at a meeting hosted by Laois Public Participation Network (PPN) this week where 29 different community groups turned out to hear a debate on the topic and vote. Each community group that was represented at the meeting had one vote.

Following a result of 22 votes in favour of a poster ban to 7 votes against, Laois PPN will now make a submission to the Laois Draft Litter Management Plan 2018-2020 proposing that all towns and villages of Laois within the 50km speed limit are a "Poster Free Zone".

The debate was proposed by Robbie Quinn from the Abbeyleix Business and Community Development Forum.

Mr Quinn represented the side in support of the poster ban at the debate.

On the opposing side was Paddy Buggy from the Mountmellick Development Association Heritage and Museum Committee. Donal O'Shea from the SVT hub chaired the meeting. 

Suzanne O’ Connor from Laois PPN told the Leinster Express that it was an interesting debate.

Ms O’Connor explained that the PPN represents the majority of the community groups in Laois that are registered with the PPN.

She said the ban is favourable because it was suggested that each town would have a designated area to display posters and added that posters are often not recyclable and this designated area will give an option without littering.

The suggested ban applies to all types of posters including political and referendum posters. How this will be regulated is to be discussed by public representatives when the submission comes before them at a meeting for the Draft Litter Management Plan 2018-2020 in the coming weeks.

At the moment, five Laois towns operate poster free zones including Portarlington, Castletown, Ballacolla, Clonaslee and Abbeyleix. These towns are currently self-regulating. They contact bodies that put up posters and ask them to be removed.