The show is on Sunday September 1. Return entry forms to Blathnaid Delaney, Coolagh, Clonaslee or Mary Rose Corbet, Ballykaneen by Wednesday August 21. Competitions include Bonny Baby and Most Suitably Dressed Lady as well as the Vintage exhibition.


Social Services travelled to Wexford recently, visiting the JFK homestead in Dunganstown, the Dunbrody famine ship in New Ross and the beautiful Lady’s Island, followed by a meal in the Talbot Hotel. Sincere thanks to Clonaslee Pharmacy, Ger Kelly, all who sponsored raffle prizes and helped out, and Pat the driver.


Annual Tour to Clare on August 31 visiting Aillwee Caves, The Burren Centre, Caherconnell Fort, Cliffs of Moher. Call Matt Barrett 087-672-6290.

GAA congrats

Congrats to Jessica Baker who represented Clonaslee Rounders in a display of skills in Croke Park on August 11 in half-time at the All Ireland Minor Hurling Championship. Congrats to Sarsfields’ Amy Loughman, Clonaslee who was on the Laois Minor B Football team that won the All Ireland.


Whist every Sunday night starting at 9 pm sharp in the Parochial hall. All welcome.

RESULTS: Sunday August 4: Top score: Tom Kearns. Gents: 1 Noel Kelly 2 Martin Rigney. Ladies: 1 Mick Kelly 2 Lucy O’Brien. Quarters: 1 Paddy Grogan 2 Sadie Delaney 3 Kathleen Kennedy 4 Martin Delaney. Raffle: Lucy O’Brien, B O’Brien, Mick Kelly, Sean Kennedy, Noel Kelly. Sunday August 11: Top score: B O’Brien. Gents: 1 Matt Barrett 2 Martin Delaney. Ladies: 1 Olivia White 2 Heather Kelly. Quarters: 1 PJ Connolly 2 Michael Muldowney and V Kearns 3 Mary Lawless 4 Marie Geraghty. Lowest score: Teresa Muldowney. Hatching: Teresa Byrne and John Fitzpatrick. Raffle: B Daly, Eileen Brophy, P Whelan, M Lawless, E Brophy.


Jackpot not won. Winning no: 7-1-16. €30 winners: Agnes Hogan, Sean Conroy, Boyle; Oisin Casey, Boston, Brian Flanagan, Tinnahinch; Tadgh Bryan c/o N Dunne; Cassie Corbet. Promoter’s prize: Matt Barrett, Post Office, Mary Rose Corbet. Next Jackpot: €1,400.


Jackpot not won. Winning no: 7-1-11-23. €40 winners: Nuala Smith, Edel Dunne, Louise Hilliard, Snoop, Eamonn Conroy, Graigue. Promoter’s prize: Sean Conroy. Next jackpot: €5,350.