Bingo is back is the old hall. The committee wish to thank the parish council and Fr. Conlon for the use of the Old School Community hall during the renovations. Also thanks to all our customers who continued to support us during this time, we hope you all like our new and refurbished rooms. Over €1,200 in prize money every Monday night, also a raffle. Come and enjoy a great night out and you might be lucky.

Christmas Fair

A great was had by all the recent Christmas fair which was held in the Old School Community Hall. Santa arrived at 1.45pm to be greeted by a great crowd of children all excited and looking forward to meeting and having a chat with him. All the usual stalls were there, bottle stall, guess the weight of the Christmas cake, bric-a-brack, spin the wheel, farm produce and a competition for children to make a Christmas card with a picture of Santa’s house. Winners on the day were Katie Healy, Andrew Kennedy, Chelsea Orr, Rachel Fitzpatrick, Emily Mulhall, Kaitlin Fenelon and Michael Lacey. Well done to everyone who entered. Winner of the Christmas cake was Kathleen Gorman, Ballypickas who guessed the correct weight of 13lbs 12 1/2 ozs. The annual Christmas draw was also held on the day and the winners were €1,000 - Isabella Bulger, Spink. €600 Kathleen Delaney, Castlecoole. €400 Katy & Lucy Doyle, Ralish. €100 each to Ray Duggan Durrow Road, Ella O Shaughnessy Kilcronan, Liam Lalor Lisbigney, Mairead Phelan Ralish and John Fitzpatrick Knockbawn. Congratulations to all winners. Well done to all volunteers who worked so hard and made it a very enjoyable day for everyone who attended.

Parish Lotto

Numbers 2, 6, 8, 16. No Winner. €20 each to Fintan Kavanagh, Anne O Shaughnessy, Maurice Delaney, Dick Malone, Nichola Doyle, Alice Kennedy, Eilish Phelan, Siobhan & Kevin O Mahony, Damien Carter, Breda Fitzpatrick. Next weeks jackpot €4,200.

Ballinakill Parents Assoc.

Ballinakill Parents Association thank everyone who supported their recent Christmas Hamper Raffle. Winner of the hamper was Pauline Mc Donald, Barna. Other winners were Bernie Moran Abbeyleix, Robbie Kennedy Monaclear, Christina Hall Masslough Meadow, Gillian Doran Kilkenny Road, Laura Siney Cappanashannagh and Amy Lacey Raggetstown. Congratulations to all winners. The committee would also like to wish everyone and very happy and peaceful 2014.

Ossory Cycling Club.

OCC is a newly formed cycling club in Laois, we are now into our third year as a club. We carter for both Leisure and the more competitive Cyclist. Our aim is to promote cycling in Laois and surrounding areas. we currently have cyclist from both Tipperary and Kilkenny. We have come quite a long way since we started up. There has being two Leisure cycle events and one cycling Ireland road held in Rathdowney and our club has also being taking part in an inter Club cycling Competition for the last two years. if you are interested in joining our club feel free to join us on Sunday Mornings from the Square Rathdowney starting at 10am sharp.

For more Information Contact Seamus Kavanagh Club Chairman on 0876446792. Dates for events in Rathdowney. Clubs 100k and 35k Sportive 4th May start GAA Centre. Ras an Laoighis Road race 20th April start The square Rathdowney. Ballagh Challenge 100k start Durrow 22nd June.