Laois Walks Festival

Laois Walks Festival

Grantstown Lake Walk Ballacolla on Wed, July 8 Grade C • 7 km • 2 hours. Includes some quiet roads and laneways with nice countryside views. Meet: Topaz Service Station 7.30pm. Walk on Mon, 20 July Grade C • 7 km • 2 hours lk. Meet at Hayes’s Shop, Ballacolla 7.30pm.


The Ossory Agricultural Show will take place on Sunday July 26 at the Showgrounds, Coolfin Cross, Mountrath Road, Rathdowney. There will be classes in cattle, sheep, horses, poultry, eggs, jam, home baking, arts, crafts vegetables, produce, flowers and photography, also junior classes. There will be many attractions on the day including cookery demonstrations, vintage show, trade stands, dog show, music and much more. also junior classes. An annual highlight of the show is the Most Suitably dressed Lady and Gentleman, Little Miss Ossory and Most Suitably Dressed Boy.

Show schedule and further details about the show are available from the secretary Catherine Fitzgerald, Conoboro Road, Rathdowney at 087-9975902, fax 0505-48939. Information also available from Show Chairman Peter Ging 086-23945783, , e-mail address

Clough ICA

Clough ICA held its monthly meeting on Thursday June 11, with a good attendance. A vote of sympathy was passed with the Carrigan Family on the death of Cannon James Carrigan also with the Broderick Family, the Davin Family and Margaret Hanlon on their recent sad bereavements. Members will attend the Federation meeting in Clonaslee on June 24 and will take part in the walk for Laois Hospice and the Cuisle centre on June 28. Competition winners were Nora Hyland and Sheila Coonan. Paul O’Toole attended and demonstrated how to fill hanging Baskets, window boxes and planters which everyne enjoyed. Raffle winners were Maureen Dobbyn, Maura Mc Evoy, Sheila Coonan, Nora Hyland, Breda Phelan, Margaret Hanlon, Phil Nolan, Noreen Byrne, Peggy Bergin, Breda Bolger, Kathleen Walsh, Kathleen Broderick, Mary Dunne, Kitty Hogan, Anna Bergin and Josie Mc Cartney.The Guild is on holidays for July and August. Thanks to chairperson Maura McEvoy.