Our AGM held in Glendine Lodge, Kinnitty, on Thursday April 26 was very well attended. The chairman welcomed those present thanking them for their help during the year. The secretary gave a comprehensive run-down of the events and activities during the year. Our members were commended on their commitment and Pride of Place, with emphasis on the association’s aim to promote and protect the Slieve Blooms as an amenity area of which to be proud.

Ongoing efforts are being made to improve the relationship between walkers and landowners on whose goodwill the future of walkways depend. Signage which is misleading or does not exist needs to be addressed urgently as it is becoming a health and safety issue.

The association continues to work towards having the litter bins and picnic furniture that re-installed. As the tourist season begins we are calling on the local authority to have this issue dealt with urgently and thank our local councillors who are endeavouring to have this matter resolved.

Our annual sponsored walk took place on Sunday June 19 2011. The Ard Erin Festival was successfully revived on Sunday July 24 when a large crowd climbed the highest peak in the Slieve Blooms. Our annual tour visited Dublin taking in Farmleigh House. An enjoyable day out was had by all. Thanks go to Brian Healion for organising yet another interesting tour. A survey of townlands and their translated meaning was completed during the year.

Two members of the association, Paddy Lowry and Mary B. Culliton were presented with awards in the unsung hero category by the Laois Community Forum. ‘Kinnitty: My Home in Slieve Bloom’ written by Paddy Lowry (founder member) was launched in Kinnitty Castle. His book became a best seller. Association annual dinner was held in Kinnitty Castle on Sunday January 29. The following officers were elected: president Paddy Lowry, vice presidents Mary B. Culliton and Derek Fanning, chairman Mick Dowling, vice chairman John Rigney, secretary Mary Lynch, assistant secretary Mary B. Culliton, treasurer Brian Healion, PRO Kathleen Culliton.


Clonaslee Vintage Run in aid of Castlecuffe National School and Niall Mellon Trust on bank holiday Sunday May 6. Meet at Swan’s Bar Clonaslee. Breakfast served from 8.30am, on the road for 10.30am. Refreshments served at festival field Rosenallis en route. Auction after run, amateur tug of war, BBQ and other activities. Duck race taking place at 3pm, all proceeds of duck race go towards Castlecuffe National School. Music provided by the well-known Rock On Paddy. Paddy Buckley, The Kinsellas and friends from 6pm. Fun day out for all the family. Enquiries to Ray Delaney on 087 2996778.


The ‘New To You’ shop is open on Saturday May 5 from 2-4pm in the old boy’s school.


Important meeting on Wednesday May 2 at 8pm in the community centre. Sgt Ingrid Moore and Garda Michael Greaney will be attending. Any worries or concerns, now is your chance to voice your opinion. It is also in the interest of our community to hold our garda station and guard here. Please make every effort to attend this meeting.


A meeting for parents of Leaving Certificate students will be held in the school on Thursday May 3 at 8.30pm. It is important that parents attend to finalize the arrangements for the debs night.


Community mental health movement meets every Wednesday at 7.30pm in the Community Mental Health Centre, Bridge Street, Portlaoise. All welcome. Contact John 086 8033126.


Please return any outstanding St Stephen’s Day Hospice walk sponsorship cards to Sheila Bourke. Contact her on 087 6339540.


Bingo in the community centre every Thursday evening from 6.30pm – 9pm. Light refreshments served. All are welcome.


Our sympathy to the family, friends and neighbours of Pakie Dooley, Ballinahown who died recently.


Sunday April 22. Top score including jackpot of €85: Martin Delaney. Gents: 1 Patsy Smith 2 Tom Kearns. Ladies: 1 Sadie Delaney 2 D Murray. Quarters: 1 V Kearns and Noel Kelly 2 B Thompson 3 Matt Barrett and J O’Brien 4 Kathleen Kennedy. Raffle: Patricia Quinn, Tom Delaney, Annie Parnell, Noel Kelly, Olivia White, Matt Barrett.


Jackpot not won. Winning no 20-4-6. €30 winners: Michael McEvoy, 27 Hillside; Kathleen and Patrick Blake, Barradoo; Hetty Dunne, Chapel Street; A Hogan, c/o Larry Costello; Larry Costello, Coolnabanch; Rebecca, Larry, Angelina and Jennifer Rigney c/o Bridie Conroy. Promoters prize: Eileen Digan, Larry Costello, Michael Dunne. Next week’s jackpot €800.


Jackpot not won. Winning no 23-15-3-4. €40 winners: John E Troy, Brendan, Ann, Fiona; Cheryl Murphy, Adam Conroy, Theresa and Ann Goeghagan. Promoter’s prize: Sean Conroy. Next week’s jackpot €9,950.