Late Maureen Lawlor Cloonagh

Late Maureen Lawlor Cloonagh

Sincere sympathy is extended to Mr David Lawlor of Marian House Killeigh on the passing of the last remaining member of his family when his sister Maureen passed away on Monday December 22nd in the loving care of the staff of Shaen Hospital Portlaoise.

The late Maureen spent many years in Bermingham before returning to reside in the Market Square inn Clonaslee before moving to reside in the wonderful care of Shane Hospital.

On Wednesday December 24th Maureen was taken to St Manmans Church Clonaslee for Requiem Mass at eleven o’clock and her remains were laid to rest in the adjoining cemetery.

Maureen was pre-deceased by her brothers James, Peter and Michael who was for many years chairman of Laois hurling board and her sister, Sister Kathleen (New Jersey), nephews, nieces relatives friends and neighbours in Cloonagh and Tullamore May she rest in peace.

Church services

There was a wonderful turn out at Christmas ceremonies in both Camross with the church packed for Midnight Mass on Christmas Eve concelebrated by PP John Lalor who was joined on the altar by Fr Paddy Hyland who was enjoying his first Irish Christmas in forty five years and a big turn out on Christmas morning and also a large attendance in St Aiden’s church in Killenure on Christmas morning.


Congratulations are extended to Ray Cuddy of Cardtown and his bride Jenny O’Rourke of Stillbrook Mountrath who were married on Friday last in St Fintan’s church Mountrath. Ray is a prominent member of Camross GAA club and in 1958 his uncle Sean of Aughduff and his new bride’s Father Patsy O’Rourke both lined out with Laois in the Leinster minor hurling final against Kilkenny. The couple are wished every happiness in the future.

Lotto Results

Jackpot €2,600 . Lotto Numbers 6-8-12-19 No winner

€75 Joe Walsh Ballyhoran, 10 x €30 Aeidin Doran Clonin, Jim Hogan Roundwood, Michelle Guilfoyle Cloncully, Kieran Delaney Cardtown, Nora Scully Glencondra, Nancy Mooney C/o Burkes Clonin, Rita Keenan Ballinrally, McGlynn Girls Coolrain, Noel Mortimer Ballinrally, Dorothy Wallace Derrycarrow. Promoters €50 Sean Bergin, €30 Ann Dooley, 7 x €20 Mary A. Coyne, Peadar Phelan, Jim Wynne, Nora Doran, Lourda Bannon, Joan Dunphy, Carmel McCartney .

Whist Results

Top Score Tom Gowing 1st Gent Joe Dooley 2nd Gent Billy Dooley 1st Lady Mary Gowing 2nd Lady Mai Conroy / Elizabeth Cooper 1st Qtr Maud McGlynn 2nd Qtr Tim Keeanan 3rd Qtr Frank McGlynn

Raffle 1st Nora Doran 2nd Maud McGlynn 3rd Nora Doran 4th Mick Scully

Free Ticket Bridie Kavanagh