Killeshin Retain Social Service Cup

Killeshin Retain Social Service Cup

Annual student games, individual female winners: Rachel Ayres, Katie Brennan, Audrey Byrne, Moya Brennan, Amy Brennan, Lucy Gaffney, Ciara Harrington, Aoife Gallagher, Ruby Millet, Orla Davis, Tara Lawlor, Maeve Maher, Siobhan Buggy and Liz Brophy. Male winners Aaron O’Connor, Conor Dowling, Evan English, Peter Grogan, Darragh Kealy, Sean O’Driscoll, David McDonald, TJ Burke, Tom Buggy, Ewan Brennan, Oisin Ryan and Declan Murphy. Team E (Ballyadams, Wolfhill, The Swan and Knock) came 5th with team D (Arles/ Killeen and Ballylinan) 4th team. Team C were 3rd Ardough, Mayo & Newtown schools. Moneenroe and Clogh 2nd team while Killeshin retained the crown.


Winners in the lotto were Phyllis Doyle, Liam Dwyer, Ava, c/o John Whelan, Chris Kealy. No. 6-9-14-20.


Top score at Newtown whist John Graham, Bilboa. Ladies: 1. H. Parr. 2. P. Kavanagh. Gents: 1. Gerry Kealy. 2. Christy Maher. Halves: 1. Fr Murphy. 2. Willie Farrell. Quarters: 1. Kit Farrell and Kay Chase. 2. Teresa Mulhare and Maureen Coady. Raffle winners Kay Chase, Mary Wheatley, Henry Parr, Mary Warren, Hannah Moore, Alice Nash, Chris Kiernan and Teresa Mulhare.


The death took place at St Vincent’s Private Hospital, Dublin, of Mr Seamus Graham, Tolerton, Ballickmoyler, on April 23. Seamus was a well known greyhound trainer and had many successful outings on various tracks. His remains were removed to St Mary’s Church, Mayo and burial took place in adjoining cemetery. Sympathy is extended to his wife, Noreen, daughters, Mary and Aileen, sons, Philip, Diarmuid and Colm, sisters, Gemma and Una, brothers, Noel and Joseph, daughters-in-law, sons-in-law, grandchildren, other relatives and a large circle of friends.