The chiropodist will be in attendance in Borris in Ossory on Thursday April 26. For appointment please contact Lily Sheeran at 0505 41308.


The protest march which has been organised by the Abbeyleix Hospital Action Committee will take place on this Sunday April 29, starting from the Abbeyleix Manor Hotel at 2pm and proceeding on to the hospital.


A meeting of the Derrinsallagh Cemetery Committee will take place in St Canice’s Hall on Tuesday May 1 at 8pm. This meeting is open to everyone to see what is planned for the cemetery during the year ahead. New volunteers are always welcome to join the grass mowing rota. For further information please contact Frank Sheeran at 087 2365974 or Frances Coyne at 0505 41837.


The bi-centenary of St Molua’s Church, Ballaghmore takes place this year and this important event in the life of the parish will be celebrated on Sunday July 8 at 3pm. To coincide with this celebration a bicentenary booklet will be published in which it is hoped to include information on all parishioners who joined the priesthood or religious life. At present the organisers are trying to trace information from friends or relatives of all those past or present who joined religious orders and it is hoped not to leave anyone out. Anyone with any information should contact Breeda Hally on 087 7589161 or Marjorie Phelan, Ballaghmore Post Office at 0505 41161. This information will be needed before June 3.


Borris in Ossory Cycling Club are taking part in the Midlands Charity Cycle Tour on Saturday and Sunday May 19 and 20 in aid of Spina Bifida and Pieta House Suicide Awareness (Roscrea Branch). On Saturday the tour will set off for Athlone taking in Mountrath, Portlaoise, Mountmellick, and Tullamore and will return to Borris-In-Ossory on Sunday through Ferbane, Cloghan, Birr and Roscrea. Sponsorship cards are currently being filled by all cyclists and all support will be gratefully received.


The results of last week’s Progressive 25 Drive in the O’Brien Hall were as follows: 1st Anita Duggan and Mary Kelly, 2nd Dan Tierney and Murt Ryan, Paddy Dunphy and Larry O’Mahony, Tom Quigley and Tim Tierney, 3rd Lucy Bergin and Eugene Murphy, Lar and Stasia Maher, PJ Holohan and Michael Muldowney, 10th game Johnny Butler and Seamus O’Grady, 20th game Neill Maher and Anna Costigan. Raffle winners were Tom Quigley, Catherine Dalton, Seamus Byrne and Anita Duggan. The Progressive 25 Drive will continue next Thursday night in the O’Brien Hall at 9pm.


The annual church gate collection in aid of Fine Gael was taken up at all churches in the parish last weekend and was very successful. Thanks is extended to all those who generously contributed to the collection. Thanks also to the volunteers who stood at the church gates and took up the collection.


The first of the 4 month draws in aid of Knockaroo Church Renovation Fund will take place on this Friday night April 27.