Ballypickas ‘79 team

Ballypickas ‘79 team

On the 4th of November in ‘79...” as the song goes, Ballypickas won the JHL title. On the November 1 we will be honouring the team in the Abbeyleix Manor Hotel. Tickets €25 available from committee members. Hope to see you all there!

Parish Lotto

Numbers 8, 20, 21, 25. No Winner. €20 each to Owen & Niamh Simms, Sheila Hosey, Corner Boys, Brendan O Beirne, David Cuneen, Pat Delaney, Harry Moran, Paul Doyle, Joe Delaney, Linda Walsh. Next weeks jackpot €2,200.

Vintage Show

The Ballinakill Vintage and Classic Owners Club’s freee indoor motor show takes place in the Portlaoise Shopping Centre on the October bank holiday. The club are holding a charity collection during the show which is being overseen by the Portlaoise Lion’s Club in aid of the Laois Friends of Midlands Simon and the Portlaoise branch of Irish Guide Dogs for the Blind. Call 0879616754 for more information on bookings. Car clubs must pre-book and all vehicles should be in position before 11am.

Heywood Open Night

Heywood C.S. will be holding an open night on Thursday, October 23 from 7pm until 9pm for prospective 1st year students with their parents/guardians. All are welcome.

Juvenile GAA

Training will continue through the winter months for all age groups in Heywood gym on Monday evenings at 6pm. Minimum age is 5 years old. For health and safety reasons parents must stay when training is on. cost is €2 per night. Looking forward to seeing you there.

biBingo is held every Monday night in the hall on the square starting at 8.30 pm. Over €1,200 in prizes every week. There is also a raffle. More local support would be appreciated as crowds have dropped recently. Come and enjoy and you might be lucky.

Charity Auction

Monster auction in O’Shaughnessy’s bar on Saturday, November 7 for the Heart and Lung foundation. Items for sale will include farm produce, silage, hay, straw, heating, timber, blocks, turf, coal and all types of vouchers. Please support this worthy cause.


There was 9 tables. Winners on 10 games were Mick Carter and Mick Holland. Runners up on 9 games were Ann Mahony and Mary Bergin, Tom Moore and Fint Phelan, Paddy and Tony Walsh, Vera Brennan and Theresa Delahunty, Sean O’Shea and Phil Doheny, Joe Gill and John Mooney. Raffle winners were Eilis Phelan, Michael Holland, Willie Gorman and Grace O Neill.