St Brigids Handball Club

St Brigids Handball Club

A good crowd turned out for our club AGM at which Phil Dormer’s term as chairperson was completed. The club would like to thank Phil for all her work, advice and help during the years and wish her well in her new position as designated officer, it is great to see her continue to help out the club as she has done for over 20 years. The following were elected:

Chairman Joe Brennan. Secretary Patsy Dowling. Treasurer Tony Carr. PRO Peter Whelan. Juvenile officer Mike Murphy. Development officer Andrew Dowling. Designated officer Phil Dormer. Committee Tom Lennon, Tomás Lennon, Richie Mulhall, Sean Kelly, Ivan Neale, Wesley Neale, Frank Nolan, Larry Brennan.


Top score at Newtown whist on Saturday last was won by Hannah Moore. 1st lady Kay Chase. 2nd lady Ena Wallace. 1st gent Christy Maher. 2nd Leslie Hunter. 1st half Eamon Wheatley. 2nd half Rita Brennan. 1st quarter Pat Kennedy. 2nd quarter Owen Salmon. Raffle winners were Willie Murphy, Mary Gowing, Annette Lawlor, Gerry Kealy, and Bob Murphy.


Classes continue in Behans of Tolerton on Thursdays commencing at 8.30pm.


The following were the winners in the recent fundraiser: Joe Brennan, Saoirse Finnegan, Jake Hyland, Luke Dowdall, Minnie Brennan, emma Brennan, Jim Sheridan, John Fitzpatrick, Darren Kelly, Joan Brophy.


The Seven Oaks was packed out with over 240 attending the Leinster star awards last Saturday. The new president of the athletics association Ciaran O’Cathain was delighted to be present and said some nice words in relation to those being honoured. Conor Daly stepped up to the mark once again to take the boys award for Laois while Saragh Buggy was delighted to accept the girls award for the first time, while it was an equally proud Brian Kelly that stepped forward to take the senior award. The annual club table quiz will take place in Behan’s on Thursday January 24. Your support for this event would be much appreciated. Drop in and bring a few friends along.