Macra fields new team at annual meeting

The Laois Macra na Feirme AGM was held on Monday April 15 in Cullahill Hall.

The Laois Macra na Feirme AGM was held on Monday April 15 in Cullahill Hall.

With a number of outgoing committee members, including newly elected Leinster Macra Vice President and former County Chairman Paddy Delaney from Portlaoise Macra there were a number of positions up for election. The County Executive for the 2013/14 Macra year has been elected as follows:

President - Michelle Brophy (Portlaoise Macra); Chairman - Jp Fenlon (East Laois Macra); Vice Chair - John Mortimer (Camross Macra); Secretary - Rosemary Whelan (Mountmellick Macra); Assistant Secretary - Sinead Heaney (Slieve Bloom Macra); Treasurer - Gemma Goulding (Mountmellick Macra); Assistant Treasurer - Lisa Walsh (Rathdowney Macra); PRO - Peter Farrell (East Laois Macra); Assistant PRO - Thomas Dunne (Durrow/Abbeyleix Macra); Development Chair - Alan Davis (East Laois Macra); Development Secretary - Ronan Phelan (Camross Macra); Ag Affairs Chair - James Greene (East Laois Macra); Ag Secretary - Siobhán Walsh (Portlaoise Macra); Competitions - Bríd Walsh and Catherine Walshe (both Durrow/Abbeyleix Macra); Sports & Social - Carl Byrne and Veronica Wheatley (both East Laois Macra); Travel - Joe Phelan (Camross Macra); Arts - Joe Dowling (Durrow/Abbeyleix Macra)

With members from all seven clubs within Laois Macra na Feirme we are hopeful that the new committee will be able to keep Laois Macra in the strong position which it is currently in.

The committee would also like to thank the outgoing members for their work over the past number of years and wish them the best of luck in the future.

If you would like to become involved in Macra na Feirme in Laois and experience all that the organistation has to offer you can get in touch with us at or contact Alan Davis on 0868400911.