18 May 2022

WATCH: Another Laois councillor celebrates re-election

On the 12th count, the sixth of seven councillors for the Portlaoise Municipal District has been elected. 

Cllr Mary Sweeney was hoisted high in a tearful celebration this Monday night, after reaching 1369 votes with transfers,  putting her above the quota of 1278. 

The final seat will be taken by either Thomasina Connell, Dominic Dunne or Iqbal Naeem. 

Cllr Sweeneys surplus 91 votes will be now redistributed for another count.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.