Johnny Logan announced for Electric Picnic throwback stage!

Express Reporter


Express Reporter

Johnny Logan announced for Electric Picnic throwback stage!

Electric Ireland has announced the latest act in its Throwback Stage line-up at Electric Picnic.

Irish girl band B*witched and Heather Small, the voice of M People (and most of the 90’s), caused a stir when they were announced for the Throwback Stage. 

Now, the legendary Johnny Logan has been announced as the latest addition to the line up.

Johnny Logan is known as being the only performer to have won the Eurovision Song Contest twice, in 1980 and 1987. He also composed the winning song in 1992.

Logan first won the Eurovision Song Contest in 1980, with the song "What's Another Year" written by Shay Healy. The picture above is from 1980. 

In 1984, Logan composed the song "Terminal 3" which placed second at Eurovision, performed by Linda Martin. He won the contest for a second time in 1987 with "Hold Me Now", which he also wrote himself. His third win came in 1992, as composer of Linda Martin's winning entry "Why Me?".

The Eurovision legend will perform the first ever 'slow set' at Electric Picnic. 

Speaking of the announcement, Johnny Logan said:

“After years and years of gigging very successfully around Europe, millions of record sales, performing for heads of state from The Queen of England to Pope John Paul at The Vatican - I‘ve finally been asked to play on the Electric Ireland’s Throwback Stage at this year’s Electric Picnic!

"I am more than delighted and really looking forward to it. The slow set is the perfect way to set the mood before I take to the stage. So many people share their memories of dancing to some of my songs, during the ‘slow set’ back in the day. I really hope people get into the spirit, and enjoy the ‘slow set’, a novel thing in the middle of a festival I’m sure!” 

Electric Picnic returns to Stradbally, Co. Laois from August 31st - September 2nd. 

Tickets are completely sold out!