Portlaoise dethrone Leinster GAA champions Moorefield

Winners withstand second half comeback

Leinster Express Reporter


Leinster Express Reporter

Portlaoise dethrone champions Moorefield

Moorefield Ronan Sweeney turns in field during the Leinster Senior Club Football Championship game against Portlaoise at St Conleths Park, Newbridge

Portlaoise have set up a semi-final clash with Dublin champions Kilmacud after dethroning reigning Leinster and Kildare champions Moorefield in the Leinster GAA AIB Senior Gaelic Football club championship. 

Portlaoise got the better of Moorefield and booked a place in the semi-final with a three-point win at St Conleth's Park, Newbridge in a game played in horrendous weather.

Portlaoise got off to a great start and dominated for most of the opening half, going in at the break leading 1-8 to 0-4, the goal coming from Craig Rogers in the 21 minute.

Moorefield came out with guns blazing in the second half hitting 1-1 inside 33 minutes.

Portlaoise got their shape back and tacked on a few points to keep the Moores challenge at bay with the lead never dipping under the three points.

With time running out Moorefield, trailing by three points threw everything at Portlaoise and could have been awarded a penalty for a foul on Ian Meehan but the referee did not budge and the challengers held out for the win on a final score of Portlaoise 1-14 Moorefield 1-11.

Paul Cahillane stared for the Laois kingpins with seven points.

Portlaoise now face south county Dublin club Kilmacud on November 25. Dublin All-Ireland winner and All-Star Paul Mannion led the scoring with 2-06 as Kilmacud comfortably saw off Meath champions St Peter's of Dunboyne.

Longford's Mullinalaghta face Éire Óg of Carlow on the other side of the draw after victories in their quarterfinals.

Scorers: Moorefield, Eanna O'Connor 0-4 (1 free), Niall hurley Lynch 1-0, Ronan Sweeney 0-2, Adam Tyrrell 0-2 (2 frees), Eddie Hevey 0-2, Niall Hurey Lynch 0-1.

Portlaoise, Paul Cahillane 0-7 (3 frees), Craig Rogers 1-2 (1 free), Brian Mccormack 0-2, Kieran Lillis 0-1, Ricky Maher 0-1, Gareth Dillon 0-1.

MOOREFIELD: Thomas Corley; Liam Callaghan, Liam Healy, Mark Dempsey; Kevin Murnaghan, Anthony Durney, James Murray cpt. Daryl Flynn, Aaron Masterson; Cian O'Connor, Roli Sweeney, Eanna O'Connor; Eddie Heavey, Adam Tyrrell, Niall Hurley-Lynch. Subs: Ian Meehan for Daryl Flynn (31 minutes); Ian McDonnell for Thomas Corley (half time); Sean Healy for Kevin Murnaghan (37 minutes); Jason Philips for Cian O'Connor (57minutes); Mark McDermott for Eddie Heavey (59 minutes); Aaron Mullins for Niall Hurley Lynch (62 minutes).

PORTLAOISE: Graham Brody; Frank Flanagan, David Seale, Chris Finn; Colin Finn, Cahir Healy, David Hollan; Ciaran McEvoy, Kieran Lillis; Graham Dillon, Conor Boyle, Craig Rogers; Paul Cahillane cpt., Brian McCormack, Ricky Maher. Subs: Brian Glynn for Craig Rogers (45 minutes); Scott Lawless for Ricky Maher (50 minutes).

REFEREE: Barry Tiernan.