St Conleth's overturn Sarsfields to claim first ever Senior league title

Andrew Egan


Andrew Egan


St Conleth's overturn Sarsfields to claim first ever Senior league title

Laois LGFA Senior ACFL Division 1 final


St Conleth's 4 - 13

Sarsfields 2 - 15


The dominant side in Laois ladies football, Sarsfields, were served a warning before the Championship as St Conleth's proved that the gap is closing with a fine win to seal league glory - their first ever Senior league title.


Two goals early on from Rachel Cullen and Eva Galvin got St Conleth's off to a dream start. Sarsfields called on their experience to reduce arrears to just two.


St Conleth's hit three in a row through Shiafra Havill, Sarah Walsh and Marie Byrne, but Sarsfields ended the half strongly with Clare Conlon and Aileen O'Loughlin scores, to leave them trailing 0-10 to 2-5.


St Conleth's were ruthless in front of goal when the chances arrived, as Shiafra Havill scored their third on the restart. Points from Sarah Walsh and Marie Byrne followed, before a fourth goal from Sinead Cullen looked to have finished the contest.


However, Sarsfields never gave up, and points from Aileen O'Loughlin, Meaghan Dunne and Clare Conlon were followed by a brilliant Conlon goal.


St Conleth's calmed the storm though with Marie Byrne, substitute Niamh Cullen and Sarah Walsh all on target. Despite another Conlon goal, St Conleth's had five points to spare in the end.


*See Tuesday's Leinster Express Sport for full coverage



Scorers: Shiafra Havill 1-2, Eva Galvin, Sinead Cullen and Rachel Cullen 1-0 each, Marie Byrne 0-6 (0-2 frees), Sarah Walsh 0-3, Niamh Cullen 0-2

Team: Claire O'Connell; Naoimi Luttrell, Àine Haberlin, Olivia Deverell; Nicole Byrne, Nicole Havill, Mary Cotter; Eva Galvin, Claire Fox; Shiafra Havill, Marie Byrne, Sinead Cullen; Rachel Cullen, Sarah Walsh, Aoife Kirrane. Subs: Aimee Kelly, Niamh Cullen



Scorers: Clare Conlon 2-10 (0-6 frees), Aileen O'Loughlin and Meaghan Dunne 0-2 each, and Alison McEvoy 0-1 each

Team: Roisin Dowling; Aine Moore, Ciara Hughes, Laura Peake; Amy Loughman, Ava Lawlor, Rosemary Bermingham (C); Joyce Dunne, Alison McEvoy; Lorna O'Sullivan, Mags McEvoy, Meaghan Dunne; Clare Conlon, Aileen O'Loughlin, Casey Conroy. Subs: Caoimhe Callaly, Aoife Daly, Emma McCann, Sinead Wall


REFEREE: Kevin Phelan