Laois JFC 'A' Round-Up - Wins for Kilcavan, Portlaoise and Killeshin in round 2

Laois JFC 'A' Round-Up - Wins for Kilcavan, Portlaoise and Killeshin in round 2

Kilcavan joined Annanough and Portlaoise in the quarter-finals

There were a host of games down for decision in the Junior 'A' football championship on Thursday evening, with one on Wednesday, and here's a run down on how those games went.

Kilcavan 5-13 Ballylinan 0-6

Kilcavan comprehensively secured their quarter-final spot with a twenty-two point victory over Ballylinan. Goals seem to be coming freely for Kilcavan, as they fired five past Ballylinan, adding on to the four they scored against The Heath last time out.

The home side dominated from start to finish here, as early points from the boots of Jason Maher, Ollie Dixon and Ronan Gorry were followed with a goal from Evan Hunt. The teenager carried the ball through a hapless Ballylinan defence, and nestled one into the corner.

Jack Delaney and Evan Philips got Ballylinan up and running, but Kilcavan were well on top, and a Ronan Gorry goal meant they went in twelve points to the good at the break.

If the result wasn't in doubt already, Kilcavan made sure of it when they struck for two quick-fire goals early in the second half. Sean Mangan and Eddie Conroy both raised green flags for the Offaly border side.

The in-form Jason Maher rounded off the goal-fest for the evening, as Kilcavan look like a team that will be hard to beat again this year.


Scorers: Jason Maher 1-4 (0-2 frees, 0-1 ’45), Ronan Gorry 1-3, Evan Hunt and Sean Mangan 1-1 each, Ollie Dixon 0-3, Eddie Conroy 1-0, Gearoid Treacy 0-1

Team: Eamon O’Brien; David Ryan, Sean Mangan, Cathal Grennan; Eddie Conroy, Michael Bermingham, Declan Conroy; Barry Mangan, Gearoid Treacy; Evan Hunt, Ollie Dixon, Paul Bolton; Derek O’Connell, Jason Maher, Ronan Gorry. Subs: Padraig O’Brien for O’Connell (39 mins), Barry Grennan for D Conroy (41 mins), Conor White for Bolton (47 mins), Manus Dunne for E Conroy (51 mins)


Scorers: Jack Delaney 0-3, Evan Philips, Brian Kenna and David Bride 0-1 each

Team: Mark Murphy; Aaron Baldwin, Paudge Leonard, Jamie McDonald; Niall Behan, Evan Philips, Mark Kelly; Liam O’Dea, James Murphy; Jack Delaney, Emmet Doyle, David Bride; Brian Kenna, Walter Hovenden, Ian Coleman. Sub: Michael Murphy for Coleman (46 mins)

Referee: Vincent Dowling (O'Dempsey's)

Portlaoise 5-8 Ballyroan-Abbey 1-13

Kilcavan aren't the only side scoring goals for fun in this competition, as Portlaoise banged in another five against Ballyroan-Abbey, bringing their tally to eleven goals in just two games.

Brian Gaynor, Andy Dowling, Fergal Fennell, Thyge Ryan and Shane McManus scored the goals this time round, as The Town look arguably the strongest second team to emerge in this year's Junior 'A' championship. It remains to be seen whether they lose a few to the Intermediate team for the next round, but if they can keep this side together, they'll be a tricky team to beat at this grade for anyone left.


Scorers: Fergal Fennell 1-3 (0-2 frees), Shane McManus, Andy Dowling and Thyge Ryan 1-1 each, Brian Gaynor 1-0, Cian Houlihan and Jack Fennell 0-1 each

Team: Richie Downey; Kevin Phelan, John Delaney, JP Seale; Gavin Fitzpatrick, Brian Seale, Aidan McGovern; Jack Dooley, Jack Fennell; Cian Houlihan, Liam McGovern, Thyge Ryan; Andy Dowling, Shane McManus, Fergal Fennell. Subs: David Finn, Brian Gaynor, Keith Lalor, David Leonard


Scorers: Adam Brennan 1-3, Charlie Whelan and Paudie McDonald 0-2 each, Aaron McEvoy, Stephen Thompson, Colm Walsh, Colin Kinsella, Barry Walsh and Ger Whelan 0-1 each

Team: Trevor Phelan; Enda Dunne, Tomás Whelan, Enda Rowland; Ger Whelan, Jamie Bartley, Colin Kinsella; Aaron McEvoy, Barry Walsh; Diarmuid Conway, Charlie Whelan, Stephen Thompson; Adam Brennan, Paudie McDonald, Colm Walsh. Subs: Daire McWey for Bartley, Daire Phelan for McDonald, Gerry Scully for C Whelan, Eoghan Fennelly for Dunne

Referee: Seamus O'Shea (Crettyard)

Stradbally 2-4 Killeshin 2-6

Stradbally were dumped out of the championship following a two point loss to Killeshin in a low-scoring affair. 

Killeshin led 0-5 to 0-2 at the break, and the away side hit two goals from Gavin Byrne and James Davis to put them firmly in the driving seat. Stradbally, to their credit, pulled two goals back from John Clancy and Kevin Holohan, but Killeshin held on to secure a two point victory.


Scorers: Gavin Byrne and James Davis 1-0 each, James Doogue 0-3, Craig Whelan 0-2, Jack Phelan 0-1

Team: Gavin Deering;Trevor Brennan, Lee Dunne, Adam Brennan; Kieran Bolton, James Davis, Nathan Brennan; Gavin Byrne, Ger Kelly; Cathal Byrne, Craig Whelan, James Doogue; David Mahon, Jody Hennessy, Jack Phelan.


Scorers: John Clancy and Kevin Holohan 1-0 each, Podge Langton 0-2, Charlie O'Brien and Sean Devoy 0-1 each

Team: Jack Larkin;Tadgh Murray, Richard Carolan, Gary Moore;Kevin Holohan, Billy Murphy, Jamie Devoy; Eamonn Delaney, Sean Comerford; Sean Devoy, Podge Langton, Damien Fitzpatrick; Dan Bowe, Charlie O'Brien, John Clancy. 

Referee: Pat Moran (Graiguecullen)

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.