BREAKING: Status Orange thunder warning issued for Laois and 15 other counties

Express Reporter


Express Reporter

Met Éireann has issued a Status Orange thunder warning for 16 counties today including Laois. 

The warning was issued at 3pm on Friday afternoon and remains in place until 10pm tonight.

The following counties will be affected by the "severe thunderstorm activity": Cavan, Monaghan, Donegal, Dublin, Carlow, Kilkenny, Laois, Longford, Wexford, Wicklow, Westmeath, Leitrim, Roscommon, Sligo, Cork and Tipperary.

A Status Yellow rain warning is also in place for Leinster, Cavan, Monaghan, Donegal, Leitrim, Roscommon, Sligo, Cork, Limerick, Tipperary and Waterford until 10pm tonight.

Met Éireann is also tracking lightening strikes.

The Office for Emergency Planning which responded to Storm Emma and Hurricane Brian is also warning the public of the risk the weather poses.

FULL FORECAST: Torrential rain and thunderstorms set to hit under Met Éireann weather warning.

PICTURES: Laois photographer captures thunderstorm beautifully.