Ballyroan Abbey book place in Feile finals with win over The Harps

Greg Mulhall


Greg Mulhall


Ballyroan Abbey book place in Feile finals with win over The Harps

The Ballyroan Abbey side that defeated The Harps in a spirited final.

Midland Park Hotel Feile 'B' Football Final


Ballyroan Abbey 2 - 2

The Harps 2 - 1


Ballyroan Abbey claimed the Feile 'B' title with a narrow one-point victory over The Harps in the decider on Sunday.

Ballyroan Abbey will be heading for the Galway/ Mayo this summer as two first-half goals from Kyle Mullin and Ted Whelan built the platform for this Ballyroan Abbey victory.

The Harps narrowly lost the hurling decider last weekend, and experienced disppointment again as they missed out by the narrowest of margins.

Playing with the aid of the breeze in the opening half Ballyroan Abbey opened with a goal from Kyle Mullin before Fionn Delaney fired a point and then Ted Whelan clinched their second goal with the aid of the upright.

The Harps hit back with a pointed free from Bobby Murphy, but Ballyroan closed the half with a Darren Mulhall free to give them a seven-point advnatge at the break.

Second-half goals from Bobby Murphy and and Darragh Townsend brought The Harps to within a point, but Ballyroan Abbey held on to book their place in this summer's Feile finals in Galway/Mayo.




Scorers: Kyle Mullin 1-0, Ted Whelan 1-0, Darren Mulhall (0-1f)and Fionn Delaney 0-1 each.


Jake Keane, Rian Moloney, Daniel Cass, Luke Byrne; Jamie Ward, Tom O’Keeffe, Cormac Byrne; Darren Mulhall, Kyle Mullin; Jack Finlay, Fionn Delaney, Eli Quinn; Kallum Fitzpatrick, Ted Whelan, Stephen O’Donnell. Subs: Ethan Robinson, Eoin Prendergast, James Walker, Tommy Ward, Colin Scully.





Scorers: Bobby Murphy 1-1, Darragh Townsend 1-0.


Team: Cian Lochlan Curran; Shane Shortall, Mark Downey, Rory Walsh; Eoghan Murphy, Liam Kirby, Donal Deegan; Neil Stanley, Ciaran Flynn; Jack Dunphy, Darragh Townsend, Mark Bergin; Martin Drennan, Bobby Murphy, Justin Duggan. Subs: Ross Deegan, Mark Downey, Will Duggan, Aaron Houlihan, Simon Comerford, John Delahunty, Ned Duggan, Tom Kennedy, Bobby Murphy, Eoin Sheppard, Ciaran Walsh.



REFEREE: Tom Kennedy (Killeshin)